Backing up the village and restoring a lost villageBy
Once the village is connected with Game Center, an online version of the current village is saved in nearly real time. Logging into that Game Center account on a different device or logging in again after a data loss makes it possible to restore the lost village, the app will ask weather to start a new village/continue the saved village or use the online saved version to restore to the device.
Both versions can be previewed and after that the correct one restored. This also enables the player to either play the game with the same village on two different devices or, by creating a second Game Center account, to have two different villages on one device.
If Game Center is not available for the device or a village has not been connected to it before some data got lost, it is possible to restore the village from a previous backup point. The game creates a backup once a day, a list of these backups can be found in a hidden feature.
After tapping on the small head of Papa Smurf found in the options menu for 16 times a “Recover Village” button appears at the bottom right side of the options menu. Clicking on that gives a list of the latest backups. The villages saved there can be previewed and, if needed, restored.